Department of Real Estate SAFE ACT - Frequently Asked Questions

Questions Regarding the Examination Requirements

- **Q.** I passed an examination before my real estate broker or salesperson license was issued. Do I need to take an additional test to obtain a MLO License Endorsement?
- **A.** Yes. Under the SAFE Act and Section 10166.06 of the California Business and Professions Code, all applicants for a MLO License Endorsement must successfully complete one of the following three conditions:
 - 1. Pass both the National and California State components of the SAFE Test, or
 - 2. Pass both the National and Stand-alone UST components of the SAFE Test, or
 - 3. Pass the National Test Component with Uniform State Content

The Nationwide Multistate Licensing System (NMLS) administers all MLO related examinations.

- **Q.** How do I register for the examinations?
- **A.** Follow the <u>instructions</u> on the NMLS website.
- **Q.** Where can I find information regarding the availability of test providers and test locations?
- A. <u>Information</u> on pre-licensing testing and testing centers can be accessed via the NMLS website.
- **Q.** What are the minimum passing scores to obtain a license endorsement?
- **A.** An individual must obtain a grade of at least 75% on the National and California State components of the SAFE test, the National and Stand-alone UST components, or the National test component with Uniform State Content.
- **Q.** Can I retake the test if I fail to obtain a passing score?
- **A.** Applicants must wait 30 days before retaking the test. If an applicant fails their initial test, the test may be retaken two more consecutive times with a 30-day waiting period between each attempt. An applicant who fails three consecutive tests must wait 180 days before retesting.
- Q. How much does it cost to take the test?
- **A.** The fee for the National component is \$110. Test fees must be paid at the time you register for the test. Fees cannot be paid at the testing center. Fees are non-refundable.

- **Q.** What will be covered on the test?
- A. Content outlines of the test components are posted at the NMLS Resource Center Web site.
- **Q.** How many questions are on the examination?
- **A.** The test consists of 125 questions, of which 115 are scored. The time allotted for the test will be 190 minutes with an additional 35 minutes for completing a tutorial and an optional candidate survey.
- **Q.** Is there a difference between the California state-specific component for a DRE licensee and a Department of Business Oversight (DBO) applicant?
- **A.** No. Applicants will take the same examination whether applying for MLO licensure under DRE or DBO.
- **Q.** If I passed the National test component in another state but now wish to become licensed in California, do I need to repeat that test?
- **A.** No, the NMLS system will keep a record that you completed the National test component, which you only need to pass once.